What is a CSDS?
A Council-certified Structural Drying Supervisor (CSDS) conducts structural drying and water damage restoration projects. A CSDS can quickly remove standing water from a home or business and can also use applied psychrometry to make sure that structures are thoroughly dry. A CSDS can control pressure and humidity relationships during a project. A CSDS can safely clean, treat or remove structures and contents affected by water damage. A CSDS can follow established protocols and industry standards for water damage restoration.

A CSDS has verified knowledge of the structural drying field. The CSDS examination covers the most respected reference texts in the industry. Candidates for the CSDS must know the important industry standards. They must be familiar with the scientific principles governing water damage restoration. They must understand the most common practices and protocols used by remediators. They must be familiar with the equipment used in structural drying. They must be aware of legal issues affecting their work

Each CSDS has demonstrated at least eight (8) years experience in structural drying in one or more of the following settings:

Single and multi-family residential buildings

Offices and commercial buildings

Industrial structures

Government facilities

Schools and public buildings

Healthcare facilities

To earn the Council-certified Structural Drying Supervisor designation, every candidate must:

Demonstrate at least eight (8) years of verifiable field experience in structural drying

Pass a rigorous examination based on broad industry knowledge rather than a course curriculum

Earn the unanimous approval of the CSDS certification board

Re-certify every two years

Participate in 20 hours of professional development activities each year

Maintain the highest ethical standards

The CSDS certification is pending accreditation by the Council for Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB), a nationally recognized independent accreditation body. ACAC certifications are the ONLY designations in the structural drying field to apply for CESB accreditation.